From Octave
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Public application[edit]

A: An introduction[edit]

  • My native tongue is Russian, but I speak English also.
  • I am studying computer science in university and all my previous work experience connected with it.
  • I want to participate in the Google Summer of Code because it gives experience of development not only with a small team, but with whole community, it gives understanding of opensource development instead of usual commercial products. And, of course, it is a chance to learn something new and improve skills.
  • The main reasons of my interest in Octave is that I use it in my study, and that is needs not only programming, but math skills too.

C: Contact[edit]

  • My IRC nick is 'Viers', time zone is UTC+7.
  • During my study (for this year it ends only in May) my coding time is flowing between UTC+0 2:00 - 16:00.
  • At summer I may code at any time between UTC+0 1:00 - 11:00 - I`ll try to make my worktime suitable for mentor.

E: Coding experience[edit]

  • I have got a lot of experience with C++ and Qt, it`s my primary programming language. My experience with m-scripts is not so impressive - few functions and nothing really serious.
  • Also, I have used programming languages Java, C#, Python, JavaScript and Ruby.
  • I have not any experience in opensource. My biggest team experience was developing Windows version of small webcam software product (ManyCam). There I`ve learned all importance of documentation and comments, how to use Mercurial VCS and interact with a small team. Also, I`ve learned few new things about C++11, Qt and libCURL.
  • I`ve just started to learn how Octave (and opensource products at all) developing, so still don`t have any commits and patches.

F: Feeling fine[edit]

  • I have some experience and may use without any problems IRC, Mercurial, make and gcc.
  • I`ve used Redmine Wiki before, but I think, there will be no troubles with Mediawiki.
  • Still I may need some help with mailing lists, - that mechanism is pretty new for me.
  • If I became really excited with Octave development, that make me actively stay in community better than anything else.

O: Only out of interest[edit]

  • Yes, I`ve heard about Octave before in University and used it for my practice works.
  • All the questions was pretty easy to answer.

P: Prerequisites[edit]

  • I may use Windows8 or Ubuntu 13.10 OS. Perhaps, Ubuntu will be better for Octave development. Also, I may install any other OS, if necessary.
  • For development I`m using my own computer, so I do not think there will be any limits for internet connection or access, or with new software installation.

S: Self-assessment[edit]

  • As a student, I understand, that criticism is necessary for me to become better, so it will be definitely useful.
  • I prefer to define exactly what should I do (even if it is a small part of work), and ask in the end if I understand everything correctly and things I`ve done is exactly what was needed. Between those points I may work totally autonomous. Of course, possibility to ask about troubles in process will be great, but I`m not going to use it really often.

Y: Your task[edit]

  • I am interested in few tasks, and will be grateful for advise which of them is more important.
  • About time:
    • May 21 - start developing, finishing studying. Flowing timetable.
    • June 1 - start full-time development. There shouldn`t be any problems with exams.
    • July 9 - GSoC mid-term. Hope to finish biggest part of job before this point.
    • August 13 - GSoC 'pencils down' date.