User:Xierui

From Octave
Revision as of 19:29, 14 March 2017 by Xierui (talk | contribs)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

A: An introduction

  • Please describe yourself in three sentences, one of them regarding your current studies.

My name is Xie Rui. I am an undergraduate in Tsinghua University, Beijing, China. I am hard-working and have a strong desire to finish my work completely.

    • Which languages do you speak?

I speak Chinese (native), Engilsh and a little German.

    • What's your overall background?

Electrical Engineering and Automation. Mathematics and Applied Mathematics.

  • Why do you want to participate in the Google Summer of Code? What do you hope to gain by doing so?

Because it is a good opportunity to gain a experience about a real project, improve my skills, and learn to work with other developers. I think contributing to an open source software is a cool thing to do. After all, I always enjoy coding.

    • Please also describe your previous experience with the GSoC, if any.

I have no previous experience with the GSoC.

  • Why are you choosing Octave?

First, Octave is a useful tool for students like me. I will be very happy if I can do something for it and make it better. Second, I like mathematics and I am skilled in this. I have the ability to handle the project which requires mathematical knowledge. Third, I have been using matlab for two years. I am good at m-file coding.

C: Contact

  • Please state the (unique and identical where possible) nick you use on IRC and any other communication channel related to Octave. We really want unique nicks. You might want to bold it.
  • Which time zone do you live in? Will that change over GSoC duration? Perhaps DST adjustment or a relocation. Note that both UTC and GMT are not aware of daylight saving time! Please state UTC+x or -x.
  • Please state the timeframe (in UTC+0) when you feel most comfortable working during GSoC. Where are your time buffers? Example: I usually code around 9.00 to 18.00 and could also try to start earlier (~7.00) for few days ;-)